monster vs. monster


weekend round-up
April 12, 2009, 9:24 pm
Filed under: knitting, round up

Finished: Slithery Snake from Zoe Mellor’s Knitted Toys. I’ve used the book more for inspiration than anything else, since her patterns tend to be unclear and involve lots of unnecessary sewing.

img_1153img_1179

This snake is very good for hiding.

Knitting: my second clapotis, a delicious pile of goldenrod goodness.

img_1203

 

Lusting after: felt headbands and fascinators 

louandlee1

Listening to: Joyride: Remixes, an album of Mirah songs remade into these amazing upbeat tracks that are sometimes dance songs, sometimes quiet breathy vocals chopped into strange new melodies, and clearly all done by people who genuinely love this artist. As someone who holds Mirah’s music as the epitome of everything beautiful and perfect in the world, I was pleasantly surprised by how true these mixes are to the sentiments and tones of the original songs. 

mirah-joyride

Reading: Invitation to a Beheading. I’m trying to work my way through Nabokov (and Wallace, and DeLilo, and on and on) in these few short months before school begins and I’m suddenly expected to have insightful comments for everything I read.  nabokov-beheading

Watching: Eureka, which alternately indulges my desire for quirky characters and cheesy romance and my desire to pretend like I know something about particle physics and the space-time continuum. Incredibly entertaining.

eureka-one1

Digesting: Newman’s Own Sweet Dark chocolate, the most accurate vegan approximation of milk chocolate I have ever tasted in my entire vegan life. I just devoured a whole bar in about three seconds.

newmans-sweetdark1

 

Factor in thirty or forty hours of work and that’s pretty much my week. 

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

