monster vs. monster


in which I crochet
August 29, 2009, 9:23 am
Filed under: crochet | Tags:

The other night, at the knit night downstairs, we were talking about crochet. I piped up: “I’d love to crochet, but I can’t read the patterns. I just end up single crocheting row after row of a big rectangular lump that I can’t turn into anything, and it’s really frustrating.” The crocheters in the group looked crestfallen, and rightly so. I mean, if I heard a knitter say the same thing, I know my heart would sink a little. When I got home, I got to thinking. Why do I need a pattern to crochet? No one is sitting here watching me mess around with my crafting, I don’t have to answer to some sort of crochet overlord, so what difference does it make if I know the language, the stitches, the precise way to turn a corner (or whatever you call it)? Isn’t it more important that I learn to do something I know I’ll love, even if I end up with a method that’s not quite normal?  I’ve obsessively sought out knitting patterns for the simplest things, and I really haven’t seen any advantage to that strategy. In fact most of the time I ended up restricted by my pattern, tied to something I wasn’t sure I wanted when I knew I could do something just as good myself. So I’ve decided my approach to crochet will be a little more free form. It’s good to let yourself follow your instincts, right?

Last night I had a dream about a college acquaintance I never quite meshed with. In the dream she walked up to me and said, “You know I really hate you, right?” Instead of engaging with her, I just turned and walked away. Look at me growing up all over the place.

Then again, each time I reach for my cup of tea this morning, I spill half of it on myself. I suppose maturity, like all things, is relative.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

(My pictures of this project thus far are terribly lit, but here’s a better idea of size and shape. I’m having some serious ruffle problems, but I figure if I keep adding rows, it will work itself out.)

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I really like the ruffles. And if the ruffles get bigger, one day when it’s in the same room as Rilo, she’ll spend all her time trying to figure out how to get under them.

Comment by bw diederich




Leave a Reply

