monster vs. monster


vegan in providence
February 22, 2010, 4:15 pm
Filed under: vegan in providence | Tags: ,

When I moved to Providence from Oakland, I was very concerned about my new city’s vegan-friendliness. Internet searches brought up a handful of names, but without any familiarity with the city I didn’t know what to look for. The websites I found listed restaurants that, for all my knowledge, might have been as far away as Maine – two in Pawtucket, another in Naragansett – and listed diners and meat-heavy burrito joints next to snack shops and one restaurant that had already shut down. The yelp page offered different listings from HappyCow, which were different still from urbanspoon and VegGuide. Needless to say, my optimism dwindled. I couldn’t even find a discussion of how easy it is or isn’t to make vegan requests at “vegetarian friendly” restaurants. I wanted a comprehensive list of what was available, a list that included personal reviews and photos as well as offering details on atmosphere and accessibility. I couldn’t find one, so I’ve decided to make one myself. Over the past few months I’ve come to realize that Providence (and the immediately surrounding area) is chock full of vegan food, and I want to help make it easier for my fellow vegans to feed themselves.

I’ll start my V.I.P. reviews very soon, and once they’re up they’ll be linked to from this page. I’d very much appreciate any recommendations, feedback, etc. I’m super excited about this project, and I want it to be the best it can possibly be.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

